BBC One Renews ‘Shetland’ For Two More Seasons

BBC One has renewed their Douglas Henshall fronted drama series Shetland for two more seasons. The show’s sixth and seventh seasons will each consist of six episodes. The new seasons were commissioned by the BBC’s Controller of Drama Piers Wenger and the BBC’s Director of Content Charlotte Moore.

Based on the novels by Ann Cleeves, Shetland follows Jimmy Perez, a native Shetlander who has returned home after a long spell away and leads a murder investigation, uncovering secrets and lies from the past. The drama series is produced by Silverprint Pictures and stars Douglas Henshall, Steven Robertson and Alison O’Donnell.

David Kane, who developed the show’s first season and has written on all subsequent seasons, is returning to pen the scripts alongside Paul Logue. Filming on seasons six and seven will take place in locations on The Shetland Isles and around Scotland in 2020 and 2021, respectively. Louise Say is the series producer. The executive producers are David Kane, Bartlett for Silverprint Pictures and Gaynor Holmes for the BBC.

“We are really proud of Shetland, the crime series led by DI Perez and his team has proved hugely popular with audiences both in Scotland and across the rest of the UK”, said Shetland Executive Producer and Commissioning Editor for BBC Drama Scotland Gaynor Holmes. “BBC One viewers are set for an unmissable series from David Kane when it returns next year.”

While Kate Bartlett, Executive Producer for Silverprint Pictures, added: “I’m so thrilled to be making two more series of Shetland for the BBC, with our wonderful Scottish cast and crew. David Kane creates distinctive and emotionally complex narratives that unfold against the stunning, evocative landscapes of Shetland, with DI Jimmy Perez (Douglas Henshall) at the heart of it all.”