Diana Rigg, Matthew Lewis & Nigel Havers Join Channel 5's 'All Creatures Great And Small' – TVWise

Dame Diana Rigg (Game Of Thrones, The Avengers), Matthew Lewis (Harry Potter, Ripper Street) and Nigel Havers (Chariots Of Fire, Coronation Street) have joined the cast of Channel 5’s All Creatures Great And Small.
Dame Diana Rigg has been cast as Mrs. Pumphrey, the delightfully eccentric owner of the overly indulged Pekingese Tricki-Woo; Matthew Lewis as Hugh Hulton, a wealthy landowner and rival to James for Helen’s affections; and Nigel Havers as General Ransom, the fastidious manager of the local racecourse. They join previously announced cast members Nicholas Ralph, Samuel West, Anna Madeley, Callum Woodhouse and Rachel Shenton.
Based on James Herriot’s cherished collection of stories, All Creatures Great And Small chronicles the heartwarming and humorous adventures of a young country vet. This new adaptation will preserve the rich spirit, tone and values of Herriot’s iconic characters and stories and will bring to life his sharply observed, entertaining and incredibly funny tales of country life in the North of England for a modern audience, introducing a new generation to his life-affirming stories.
The drama series was penned by Ben Vanstone and is being produced by Colin Callender’s Playground, with PBS Masterpiece co-producing for the US market. Richard Burrell is the series producer, while Brian Percival, Metin Hüseyin and Andy Hay are directing. The executive producers are Colin Callender, Melissa Gallant, Ben Vanstone, Hugo Heppell, Rebecca Eaton and Louise Pedersen. The show’s first season will consist of six episodes and a Christmas special. The production will also receive funding and support from Screen Yorkshire. Production is now underway on location in Yorkshire. All3Media International is handing global sales.