BBC One Renews 'The Split' For Second Season – TVWise

BBC One has renewed Abi Morgan’s divorce lawyers drama The Split for a second season. The renewal announcement came immediately following last night’s season one finale.
“It’s a delight and a privilege to bring The Split back for series two and to submerge myself once more into the world of Noble, Hale and Defoe and the lives of Hannah and her sisters”, Morgan said. “Thank you to the BBC and the enthusiasm of viewers and we look forward to seeing you in 2019.”
The Split is set in the fast-paced, emotionally-charged world of divorce law and explores contemporary marriage and relationships through the personal and professional lives of the Defoes, a family of lawyers at the heart of London’s divorce circuit. The drama series, which was created and penned by Abi Morgan, is produced by Jane Featherstone’s indie Sister Pictures and stars Nicola Walker, Annabel Scholey, Deborah Findlay, Stephen Mangan, Meera Syal, Fiona Button, Barry Atsma, Stephen Tompkinson, Anthony Head and Rudi Dharmalingam.
“I’ve been very proud to see Nicola Walker leading our incredible cast through six episodes of Abi Morgan’s beautifully crafted exploration of families and modern marriage, and I am thrilled that we’re going to be able to continue to explore their lives in even more detail in a second series”, said Executive Producer Jane Featherstone. “Expect things to get even messier for the Defoe sisters and those closest to them.”
“In its first outing Abi and the team at Sister Pictures crafted a series which felt bold, modern and original and quite unlike anything else on our screens”, added the BBC’s Controller of Drama Piers Wenger, who commissioned the second season alongside the BBC’s Director of Content Charlotte Moore. “We are delighted that it is returning to BBC One for a second series.”