Pick TV Retains UK Rights To 'Slasher' Season 2, Eyes Spring Premiere – TVWise

Slasher is staying put on its UK home. The Sky owned and operated FTA channel Pick TV has retained the UK rights to the Canadian horror series and plans to air the show’s second season, subtitled Guilty Party, later this spring.
There had been some question as to whether or not Pick would still be carrying the show as Netflix boarded as the international broadcaster; poaching the series from both U.S. network Chiller and Canadian broadcaster Super Channel, who originally co-commissioned it. The NBCU owned Chiller would close its doors several months later.
Content Media, who handle international sales for the series, originally licensed Slasher to Pick in 2016; with Netflix UK later acquiring SVOD rights from Content. The UK arm of the global streaming service still holds right to the first season of Slasher and will make the second season available to subscribers following the linear broadcast window. Slasher is one of two first run acquisitions for Pick TV, with the other being Syfy’s Z Nation. Netflix is the exclusive broadcaster is several territories, including the United States and Canada.
Slasher is an anthology series in a similar vein to American Horror Story with each season focussing on a new “self contained” story. Season two, subtitled Guilty Party, is set in the remote Canadian winter wilderness and tells the story of a group of former summer camp counsellors who are forced to return to the isolated campground to retrieve evidence of a crime they committed in their youth. Before long the group, and the camp’s latest inhabitants, members of a spiritual retreat with their own secrets to hide, find themselves targeted by someone – or something – out for horrific revenge.
The anthology series, which was created by Aaron Martin, is produced by leading Canadian indie Shaftesbury Films and stars Leslie Hope, Paula Brancati, Jim Watson, Christopher Jacot, Joanne Vannicola, Jefferson Brown, Dean McDermott, Lovell Adams-Gray, Kaitlyn Leeb, Rebecca Liddiard, Melinda Shankar, Sebastian Pigott, Paulino Nunes, Madison Cheeatow, Ty Olsson and Simu Liu. The executive producers are Shaftesbury Films’ Christina Jennings and Scott Garvie and Content Media’s Saralo MacGregor and Jonathan Ford. Series creator Aaron Martin serves as executive producer and showrunner.