Fox Midseason Schedule: ‘Sleepy Hollow’ Moves To Friday, ‘Lucifer’ Gets Post ‘X-Files’ Berth & More

Category : News, US News
Tags :

After weeks of tinkering, Fox has firmed up their midseason schedule.

New series getting onto said schedule include The X-FilesCooper Barrett’s Guide To Surviving Life, long-gestating Seth MacFarlane animated comedy Bordertown, new DC Comics series Lucifer and Howard Gordon’s new drama series Second Chance (formerly known as The Frankenstein Code and Lookinglass).

The Guide To Surviving LifeThe two new comedies, Cooper Barrett’s Guide To Surviving Life and Bordertown, are joining the Sunday night comedy line-up as of January 3rd, with Cooper Barrett’s Guide To Surviving Life getting the 8:30pm time-slot and Bordertown assuming the 9:30pm time-slot.

Sticking with comedy, the Tuesday night block is also getting something of a shake-up, once Scream Queens wraps its run in the New Year. As of January 5th, the fifth season of New Girl will anchor the night in the 8pm slot, leading into Grandfathered at 8:30pm, Brooklyn Nine-Nine at 9pm (which is a new addition to the night, moving from its current Sunday night berth) and The Grinder at 9:30pm.

Sleepy HollowIn what is perhaps an omen for the series’ future, Fox is moving Sleepy Hollow, which has been struggling in the ratings, to Friday nights, where it will air new episodes from February 5th at 8pm. Wednesday night shows Rosewood and Empire are taking an extended break following their fall finales. Empire returns on March 30th, while Rosewood is back a few weeks earlier on March 2nd.

Gotham is taking a break after its midseason finale to accomodate the five week/six episode run of The X-Files, which as TVWise previously reported will premiere with a two night event across January 24th and January 25th. Lucifer will launch behind The X-Files on Monday January 25th at 9pm. Batman prequel Gotham will regain the Monday night 8pm time-slot on February 29th. Return dates for both Bones and The Last Man On Earth have not yet been set.

Full details of Fox’s midseason schedule follows below:

FOX WINTER 2016 Schedule

(Times for All-New Episodes are ET/PT Except as Noted)

Sunday, Jan. 3:

8:00-8:30 PM                                      THE SIMPSONS (Winter Return)

8:30-9:00 PM                                      COOPER BARRETT’S GUIDE TO SURVIVING LIFE (Series Premiere)

9:00-9:30 PM                                      FAMILY GUY (Winter Return)

9:30-10:00 PM                                    BORDERTOWN (Series Premiere)

Monday, Jan. 4

8:00-10:00 PM                                    SUPERHUMAN (Two-Hour Special)

Tuesdays, beginning Jan. 5:

8:00-8:30 PM                                      NEW GIRL (Season Premiere)

8:30-9:00 PM                                      GRANDFATHERED (Time Period Premiere)

9:00-9:30 PM                                      BROOKLYN NINE-NINE (Time Period Premiere)

9:30-10:00 PM                                    THE GRINDER (Time Period Premiere)

Wednesday, Jan. 6:

8:00-10:00 PM                                    AMERICAN IDOL (Season Premiere, Part One)

Thursdays, beginning Jan. 7:

8:00-10:00 PM                                    AMERICAN IDOL (Season Premiere, Part Two)

Friday, Jan. 8:

8:00-10:00 PM                                    MASTERCHEF JUNIOR (Winter Return/Special Two-Hour Episode)

Sundays, beginning Jan. 10:

7:30-8:00 PM                                      BOB’S BURGERS (Winter Return)

8:00-8:30 PM                                      THE SIMPSONS

8:30-9:00 PM                                      COOPER BARRETT’S GUIDE TO SURVIVING LIFE

9:00-9:30 PM                                      FAMILY GUY

9:30-10:00 PM                                    BORDERTOWN

Wednesdays, beginning Jan. 13:

8:00-9:00 PM                                      AMERICAN IDOL (Time Period Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM                                    SECOND CHANCE (Series Premiere)

Fridays, beginning Jan. 15:

8:00-9:00 PM                                      MASTERCHEF JUNIOR

9:00-10:00 PM                                    HELL’S KITCHEN (Season Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 24

10:00-11:00 PM ET/                           THE X-FILES (Season Premiere, Part One)

7:00-8:00 PM PT

Mondays, beginning Jan. 25

8:00-9:00 PM                                      THE X-FILES (Season Premiere, Part Two)

9:00-10:00 PM                                    LUCIFER (Series Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 31

7:00-10:00 ET Live/                            GREASE: LIVE

PT tape-delayed

Fridays, beginning Feb. 5

8:00-9:00 PM                                      SLEEPY HOLLOW (Time Period / Spring Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM                                    HELL’S KITCHEN

Mondays, beginning Feb. 29

8:00-9:00 PM                                      GOTHAM: RISE OF THE VILLAINS (Spring Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM                                    LUCIFER

Wednesdays, beginning March 2

8:00-9:00 PM                                      ROSEWOOD (Spring Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM                                    SECOND CHANCE

Wednesdays, beginning March 30

8:00-9:00 PM                                      ROSEWOOD

9:00-10:00 PM                                    EMPIRE (Spring Premiere)