It's Official: 'CSI' To Wrap Its Run With Two-Hour TV Movie, William Petersen & Marg Helgenberger To Reprise Roles – TVWise

CBS is officially closing the book on CSI: Crime Scene Investigation. After weeks of rumours the network has confirmed that the veteran series will be wrapping its run next season with a two-hour TV movie. The “two-hour series finale” will air on CBS on Sunday September 27th.
This is a rare move for CBS who are not known for their sentimentality, but the network’s brass felt that the original CSI, which spawned a multi-billion dollar franchise, deserved a proper send off. There was talk of a shortened final season, akin to what USA Network did for Law & Order Criminal Intent back in 2011, but it was felt a TV movie made more economic sense.
As this is the end of the road for CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, there is talk of bringing back as much of the original cast as possible and, to that end, the network has signed original stars William Petersen and Marg Helgenberger to reprise their roles as Gil Grissom and Catherine Willows in the TV movie. With the two on-board to return, it will make the finale a true “event” for fans – something CBS feels is important.
Even with the original Las Vegas set CSI wrapping its run, this is not the end of the road for the franchise, which is a hit on the international market and airs in more than 180 territories. Earlier this week, the network picked up new entry CSI: Cyber for a second season, which will see the FBI drama undergo some re-tooling. That said, it’s still a far cry from the “good old days” when CSI was drawing close to 30 million viewers, and there were two successful spin-offs (CSI: Miami and CSI: NY) on the air.
CSI: Crime Scene Investigation follows the exploits of a group of crime scene investigators working for the Las Vegas police department. The drama series, which is produced by CBS Television Studios, premiered back in 2000 and across its fifteens seasons has starred William Peterson, Marg Helgenberger, Paul Guilfoyle, Gary Dourdan, Ted Danson, Elisabeth Shue, George Eads, Jorja Fox, Eric Szmanda, Robert David Hall, Wallace Langham, David Berman, Elisabeth Harnois and Jon Wellner. It’s worth noting that the series, and in turn the franchise, was written/created on spec by Anthony Zuiker, a TV newcomer who was working as a waiter at the time.