TruTV Picks Up 'Those Who Can't' As First Original Scripted Comedy – TVWise

TruTV is getting in on the scripted originals game.
The Turner owned cable network has handed out a 10 episode series order to high school comedy Those Who Can’t from Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy – making it TruTV’s first ever original scripted comedy series.
Those Who Can’t is set in Denver and follows three dysfunctional high school teachers – played by Cayton-Holland, Orvedahl and Roy – who are about as screwed-up as the kids they teach. Maria Thayer (Eagleheart) also stars as Abbey Logan, a new librarian who questions, denies and then joins in on the antics of her co-workers.
Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy created the comedy series and will serve as executive producers alongside Tracey Baird, Krysia Plonka Michael Rotenberg, Josh Lieberman Angel Annussek and Rich Korson. The show is being produced by Thank You, Brain! Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment.
“Those Who Can’t has exactly the kind of fresh, slightly off-kilter humor we’re looking for as we venture into the world of scripted comedy,” said Chris Linn, TruTV’s President and Head of Programming. “Adam, Andrew and Ben have created a terrifically funny show that’s a perfect fit for the new truTV and our target audience of young adult viewers.”