Bob Odenkirk, Oliver Platt & More Join FX’s Limited Series ‘Fargo’

Category : News, US News
Tags :

Bob Odenkirk (Breaking Bad), Oliver Platt (The West Wing), Allison Tolman (Sordid Lives), Glenn Howerton (It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia), Peter Breitmayer (The Middle), Tom Musgrave (Beethoven’s 5th), Russell Harvard (There Will Be Blood) and Adam Goldberg (The Unusuals) have joined the cast of FX’s upcoming 10 episode limited series Fargo. They join previously announced cast members Billy Bob Thornton, Martin Freeman, Collin Hanks, Kate Walsh, Joey King and Josh Close.

Odenkirk has been cast as Bill Olson, a Bemidji Sheriffs Deputy; Platt as Stavros Milos, the Supermarket King of Minnesota; Tolman as Molly Solverson, a Bemidji Sheriffs Deputy serving under Olson; Howerton as Don Chumph, an ambitious personal trainer; Breitmayer as Lieutenant Schmidt, Gus Grimly’s (Collin Hanks) superior officer; and Musgrave as Bo Munk, Lester’s (Martin Freeman) boss at the Bo Munk Insurance Shop; while Harvard and Goldberg have been cast as Mr Wrench and Mr Numbers, members of the Fargo Crime Syndicate.

Based on the film of the same name and penned by novelist Noah Hawley, Fargo will feature an all-new “true crime” story, with the series following a new case and new characters, all entrenched in the trademark humor, murder and “Minnesota nice” that has made the film an enduring classic. The limited series is being produced by FX Productions and MGM Television, with Joel & Ethan Coen, Warren Littlefield, and Geyer Kosinski serving as executive producers. Adam Bernstein is attached to direct the premiere episode. Production on the 10 episode skein is slated to commence this fall in Canada, with FX eyeing a Spring 2014 premiere. MGM is handling global distribution.