Upfronts 2013: ABC Announces Fall Schedule; 'S.H.I.E.L.D.' Up Against 'NCIS', 'Once' Spin-Off To Launch This Fall – TVWise

ABC is the third of the five broadcast networks to announce their fall 2012-2014 schedule. Of the 12 new shows that the network has picked up for next season, only 8 of them will premiere in the fall, with the remaining four (Killer Women, Mind Games, Mixology, Resurrection and returning series Suburgatory) scheduled for mid-season. One of the real surprises here is that the Once Upon A Time spin-off, originally envisioned as a way of bridging the gap between Once Upon A Time‘s Fall and Spring runs, will now premiere this Fall on Thursday nights.
The network is trying some different strategies here. Marrying what they know to work with new ideas. In the former category, Castle is staying put on Monday nights behind Dancing With The Stars. While the network is using its two biggest comedies, The Middle and Modern Family, to launch two new comedy entries: Back In The Game and Super Fun Night, respectively. On Tuesday’s, ABC has given the 8pm time-slot to S.H.I.E.L.D. – which comes as no real surprise as the network had always envisioned it as a family show. Airing behind S.H.I.E.L.D on Tuesdays is three fellow freshman shows: The Goldbergs, Trophy Wife and Lucky 7. Airing a three hour block of entirely new shows is a risky proposition, especially with S.H.I.E.L.D. competing against the CBS ratings juggernaut NCIS, but clearly ABC is betting on Marvel’s star power here.
Thursdays see the addition of Once Upon A Time In Wonderland to the 8pm hour, while Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal will remain in their 9pm and 10pm time-slots, respectively. Despite the rumour that ABC would be dumping its Friday night comedy block, it is still alive and will be anchored by solid performer Last Man Standing at 8pm, leading into the sophomore run of The Neighbors at 8:30pm. Finally, on Sunday nights Once Upon A Time and Revenge are remaining in their time-slots and will be joined by new drama Betrayal at 10pm
ABC’s Fall 2013 -2014 Schedule:
8/7c – Dancing With The Stars
10/9c – Castle
8/7c – Marvel’s Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D.
9/8c – The Goldbergs
9:30/8:30c – Trophy Wife
10/9c – Lucky 7
8/7c – The Middle
8:30/7:30c – Back In The Game
9/8c – Modern Family
9:30/8:30c – Super Fun Night
10/9c – Nashville
8/7c – Once Upon A Time In Wonderland
9/8c – Grey’s Anatomy
10/9c – Scandal
8/7c – Last Man Standing
8:30/7:30c – The Neighbors
9/8c – Shark Tank
10/9c – 20/20
8/7c – Saturday Night College Football
7/6c – America’s Funniest Home Videos
8/7c – Once Upon A Time
9/8c – Revenge
10/9c – Betrayal
Killer Women
Mind Games