BBC Two Cancels 'The Hour' – TVWise

BBC Two has cancelled its 1950’s newsroom drama series The Hour, TVWise has confirmed.
Created by Abi Morgan, The Hour centers on a BBC current affairs news show in the late 1950′s. The drama series, produced by Kudos Film & TV, stars Ben Whishaw, Dominic West, Romola Garai, Anton Lesser, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Joshua McGuire, Lisa Greenwood, Anna Chancellor, Kelly-Jayne Adams. Burn Gorman, Juliet Stevenson. Tim Pigott-Smith, Andrew Scott and Oona Castilla Chaplin. The decision not to renew the series for a third season comes after the show suffered an audience drop of almost 50% between season 1 and season 2. “We loved the show but have to make hard choices to bring new shows through”, a representative of BBC Two said in a statement.
TVWise’s UK TV Scorecard has been updated with this new information.